top of page

Balloon Festival


Rachel dragged me to a balloon festival on our second date. I wasn’t enthusiastic about it, but was excited about spending the day with her. She explained it wasn’t just balloons; there’d be a carnival, rides, even a beer garden with live music.

She glanced at me as she drove. “I’d love to take you on a balloon ride.”

“Fear of heights, remember.” I scratched my temple. “But the beer garden sounds good.”

She chuckled. “Beer after ride. Before might encourage you to toss your cookies.”

Well, Rachel got me in a balloon. The quiet peacefulness of it, the way we could hear conversations on the ground as if the people were nearby, her hugging me to keep me distracted so I didn’t have time to be afraid, combined to ignite a love of the sport for me.

The beer garden and live music were lagniappe.

Fast forward fifteen years. Rachel and I, married now, hit every balloon festival we can. Last Saturday we attended one only an hour from home. We arrived early enough that many balloons were still being inflated, so I hadn’t missed my favorite part - seeing the tall yellow and orange flames sprouting from just above the baskets as the balloons rose.

The balloons were as colorful as always, with geometric designs predominating. The specials I liked best included a dragon, an angry bird, and a clown face that probably prompted nightmares in some folks.

I parked myself at a picnic table and started my first beer. There was a light breeze, with occasional gusts. Not enough to cancel the day’s activities, but enough to test the skill of the pilots. Rachel ran off to wish friends luck in the balloon race. She reached their red Cadillac Escalade, a black and red balloon tethered to its hitch slowly inflating. They were still at the stage of using a large fan, the burner flame not yet lit.

She hugged Julie, tending the fan, then dashed up the growing length of balloon to hug Tad. I sighed. Rachel gives the best hugs.

Rachel gave Julie another hug, then started jogging toward me. There was a strong gust. Julie shouted. When I stopped looking at Rachel and looked for Julie, she was on the ground under the large fan. Their balloon, carried by the wind, was dragging the SUV toward her.

I jumped off the picnic table bench, vaguely aware I’d spilled my beer as I sprinted toward them, thinking to get Julie out of the vehicle’s path. Rachel was not running toward her friend and I started to swear.

But Rachel was way ahead of me. She dragged the door of the SUV open and hopped in. I heard her gun the engine. The SUV lurched forward, then as she got the feel, Rachel gave it just enough juice to hold it in place.

The gust died, the balloon settled, Julie pushed the fan off and got to her feet.

I gave my wife a hug, then we both hurried over for a group hug with Julie and Tad.


Recent Posts
Archive
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter App Icon
bottom of page